Within the HUBS & SATS tab, the HUBS subtab allows you to change some hubs to single or multi master. Setting a hub to multi master will add the source business key column to your hubs and include it in
the hash key calculation, this is needed when multiple sources might share a hub. By default, this is set to multi master because this allows for more flexibility in the future when adding more sources.

In the SAT Splitting subtab, you can split satellites. The

button will allow you to switch between satellites on hubs and satellites on links.

Splitting satellites is useful when certain fields update more frequently than others. Storing these fields in a separate satellite can save a lot of storage and decrease loading times. An other reason to split a
satellite is for GDPR compliance. If certain attributes need to be hard deleted, you can separate them with a satellite split and enable hard delete in the data vault screen for one of the parts instead of the whole satellite, thus allowing you to select the fields that have to be deleted.

To split a satellite, click on the satellite in question, this will open the following screen.

Click on

and enter a name and a reason.

Once all the splits are made, drag and drop the attributes of the satellite from the list on the left to the destinations. You can select multiple attributes at the same time and drag them all into a destination.
For example, attributes which will change frequently will be added to “HF”, others to “LF”.

Return to the overview (by clicking

) and click

to lock the source. The source is now ready to be incorporated into a data vault.

You can check the status in the task overview.

In the Releases & Builds tab, it will show the release status as “COMPLETED”.

Once you have a completed release, you can go to the next step and start creating the data vault or you can add some more sources first. If you locked a source release and you forgot something or made a mistake you can just create a new release and continue editing. If something changed in your source, you also create a new release, and prepare the new version of your source. A data vault will always be built from the latest completed release of all your sources in the same project unless the source build flag is off. If you have a release that was completed with some mistakes, you can temporarily switch the build flag to off until your new release is ready.